Have any questions? Feel free to contact us:
+233 557660021 +233 505082128

About Ketu South

Ketu South Municipal > About Ketu South

Establishment and Legal Framework

Ketu South Municipality serves as the eastern international gateway to the Republic of Ghana. The Municipality is unique in the sense that its Capital Aflao/Denu shares direct boundary with Lome, the Capital of the Republic of Togo. Thus, it serves as a pronounced ground border crossing in West Africa. The Ketu South Municipality was formerly created by an Act of Parliament in 2007 through the Legislative Instrument (LI) 1897 of 2007 which split Ketu into Ketu North and Ketu South. In 2012, Ketu South Municipality was elevated to a Municipal status through LI 2155 of 2012. The Ketu South Municipal Assembly is the highest administrative and planning authority in the Municipality with a law and policy making body made up of 57 Assembly Members.


Our mission is to make a positive change in the Ketu South Municipality by mobilizing available fiscal, material and human resources for an efficient and effective delivery of social, economic, political and cultural services through the application of science and technology and transformational leadership.

The Ketu South Municipal Assembly envisions to be the best managed and decentralised Assembly delivering superior client-oriented services.

Core Value

The values of the Assembly are embedded in Hard Work, Discipline, Integrity, Transparency, Professionalism, Client Focus, Accountability, Equity, Honesty, Participation, Trust and Good Governance.

We regard good governance and public-private partnership as essential to holistic development. We are also committed to the sustenance of our traditional institutions and the natural environment.

Meet amazing people of Ketu South popularly known as the border town for a story of beauty untold

Location and Size

Ketu South Municipality is one of the eighteen (18) municipalities/districts in the Volta Region of Ghana. The Municipality is located at the south-eastern corner of Ghana. It shares boundaries with the Republic of Togo to the East, Keta Municipality to the West, Ketu North Municipal to the North, and Gulf of Guinea to the South. The Municipality has a total land size of approximately 279.64 sq. km representing 2.8 percent of the regional land area and lies within latitudes 60 03’N and 60 10’N, and longitude 10 6’E and 10 11’E.


The 2010 Population and Housing Census recorded a total population of 160,756 with females dominating by 52.9 percent constituting 7.6 percent of the Volta Region’s population. With the growth rate of 2.4 percent, the population is projected to increase to 214,409 by the end of 2021. This high population growth is largely attributed to the influx of immigrants mainly from nearby countries (Togo, Benin, Nigeria and Niger) who engage in commercial activities in the Municipality or transit through to other parts of West Africa.

Projected Population of Ketu South Municipal (2017-2022)

2010 160,756 75,648 85,108 Actual
2017 189,307 92,869 96,435 Projected
2018 193,549 95,132 98,417 Projected
2019 198,051 97,407 100,644 Projected
2020 202,614 99,709 102,905 Projected
2021 214,409 100,896 113,513 Projected
2022 219,618 103,347 116,271 Projected

Source: Ghana Statistical Service, 2010 Population and Housing Census.

Topography and Drainage

Ketu South Municipal is a relatively low-lying area with altitudes ranging from less than 15 metres at the coast and increasing to 66 metres inland. The coastline is fairly smooth and marked by sandbars. The Municipality is endowed with about 30km stretch of wetlands/lagoon, extending from the Keta lagoon at Blekusu to the environs of Aflao, which provides opportunities for aquaculture activities, eco-tourism, development of green belt, and salt mining.


Climate and Vegetation

The Municipality falls within the dry coastal savanna climatic zones. Average monthly temperatures vary between 24℃ and 30℃, which are generally high for plant growth throughout the year. Mean annual rainfall in the municipality is 850mm at the coast increasing to 1,000mm inland. It experiences double maxima of rainfall occurring from April to July and September to October. The dry season, which is dominated by the dry harmattan winds, extends from December to February. Generally, rainfall in the Municipality is considered low and erratic particularly along the coastal strip between Agbozume and Aflao during the minor season.

The original vegetation of the Municipality is Coastal/Guinea Savannah Woodland made up of short grassland with less clumps of bush and trees found mainly in the northern part. There are however coastal scrub, grassland and mangrove forests in marshlands in the south.